{"id":456,"date":"2026-08-27T09:02:09","date_gmt":"2026-08-27T09:02:09","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/?p=456"},"modified":"2026-08-27T10:48:13","modified_gmt":"2026-08-27T10:48:13","slug":"extra-c150-cra-benefit-payment-arriving-in-september","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/extra-c150-cra-benefit-payment-arriving-in-september\/","title":{"rendered":"Extra C$150 CRA Benefit Payment Arriving in September"},"content":{"rendered":"<p>Some Canadians can expect an extra C$150 in benefits this September, according to a report by Daily Hive. The additional CRA benefit payment is set to land in September 2026, giving certain recipients a one-time top-up on money they already receive.<\/p>\n<p>The report frames the C$150 as an addition to existing benefit payments rather than a brand-new program. Below is a plain look at what has been reported so far &#8211; and, just as important, what has not yet been confirmed.<\/p>\n<h2>Who is getting the extra C$150 CRA benefit payment?<\/h2>\n<p>Daily Hive reports that &#8220;some Canadians&#8221; will see the additional amount, which signals a specific group rather than every taxpayer. The exact eligibility rules were not detailed in the material available.<\/p>\n<p>Because the qualifying criteria are not spelled out, treat the following as open questions until the Canada Revenue Agency confirms them:<\/p>\n<ul>\n<li><strong>Which benefit the top-up attaches to:<\/strong> not specified in the report.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Income thresholds or family status:<\/strong> not stated.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Whether recipients must apply:<\/strong> most CRA top-ups are automatic for those already enrolled, but this has not been confirmed for the C$150 amount.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p>If you already receive federal benefits through the CRA, you are the most likely audience for this kind of adjustment. Still, do not assume you qualify until an official notice confirms it.<\/p>\n<h2>How much is the payment and when will it arrive?<\/h2>\n<p>The two firm figures from the Daily Hive report are the amount and the timing:<\/p>\n<ul>\n<li><strong>Amount:<\/strong> an additional C$150.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Timing:<\/strong> September 2026.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Type:<\/strong> an add-on to existing benefits, not a standalone cheque program as described.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p>So, if you currently receive a monthly CRA benefit and you fall within the qualifying group, your September deposit could come in C$150 higher than a typical month. The report does not say whether the C$150 is a single top-up or spread across payments.<\/p>\n<h2>How do I check if I qualify?<\/h2>\n<p>The most reliable way to confirm any change to your payments is to go straight to the CRA rather than relying on secondhand summaries. Here is a practical order to follow:<\/p>\n<ol>\n<li><strong>Log in to CRA My Account:<\/strong> check your benefit and credit details, payment dates, and any notices posted to your file.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Review your latest benefit notice:<\/strong> the CRA sends a statement explaining how each amount was calculated, including any top-ups.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Confirm your direct deposit and mailing details are current:<\/strong> outdated banking information is a common reason payments are delayed.<\/li>\n<li><strong>File your taxes:<\/strong> most income-tested federal benefits depend on an up-to-date return, so a missed or late filing can reduce or pause what you receive.<\/li>\n<\/ol>\n<p>Because the report does not link to an official CRA bulletin, the agency&#8217;s own channels are the place to verify whether the C$150 applies to you. Anyone who reaches out by phone should be prepared for the CRA to ask identity-verification questions before discussing account details.<\/p>\n<h2>Why is a C$150 top-up being added?<\/h2>\n<p>The reason behind the increase was not explained in the material available. Extra federal amounts are often tied to inflation adjustments, cost-of-living relief, or a scheduled recalculation of an income-tested benefit, but the report does not attribute the C$150 to any specific cause.<\/p>\n<p>Rather than guess, it is worth watching for an official CRA announcement that names the benefit and the policy behind the change. Until then, the safest reading is simple: some Canadians will see C$150 more in September, and the details of who and why have not been fully published.<\/p>\n<h2>What should I do if the extra money does not appear?<\/h2>\n<p>If September passes and you believed you qualified but saw no increase, a few checks usually explain the gap:<\/p>\n<ul>\n<li><strong>Confirm you were actually in the eligible group:<\/strong> the report specifies &#8220;some&#8221; recipients, not all.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Look for an offset:<\/strong> the CRA can reduce benefit payments to recover a past overpayment or an outstanding balance, which may mask a top-up.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Verify your tax filing status:<\/strong> an unassessed return can hold up benefit adjustments.<\/li>\n<li><strong>Contact the CRA directly<\/strong> if none of the above applies and your notice does not match your deposit.<\/li>\n<\/ul>\n<p>This article summarizes reporting published by Daily Hive on an upcoming CRA benefit change. For confirmation of the amount, eligibility, and payment dates that apply to your own situation, rely on your CRA My Account and any notice the agency sends you.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Daily Hive reports some Canadians will receive an extra C$150 in benefits in September 2026. Here&#8217;s what is known and what to verify with the CRA.<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":1,"featured_media":458,"comment_status":"open","ping_status":"open","sticky":false,"template":"","format":"standard","meta":{"iawp_total_views":10,"_jetpack_memberships_contains_paid_content":false,"footnotes":""},"categories":[14],"tags":[],"class_list":["post-456","post","type-post","status-publish","format-standard","has-post-thumbnail","hentry","category-cra"],"jetpack_featured_media_url":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-content\/uploads\/2026\/08\/article-1226-1.jpg","jetpack_sharing_enabled":true,"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/456","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/post"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/1"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=456"}],"version-history":[{"count":1,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/456\/revisions"}],"predecessor-version":[{"id":457,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/456\/revisions\/457"}],"wp:featuredmedia":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media\/458"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=456"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=456"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/myinformernews.com\/canada\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=456"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}